What is the Purpose of Life?


image

I  am a seeker and I feel like my life has just started off, btw I am 26 now. So I was just wondering what is the purpose of this life. It could not be only education, job, marriage and family because that’s what animals do too and in a better way than us than why were humans created in the first place? I belong to a Muslim family Alhamdulillah so I always thought that to worship Allah is the purpose of this life. But to offer prayer five times a day, to recite Quran and to spread peace and love and make a better community, is that all? That kind of satisfies my question in a way but not completely.

It’s been a year that I have started to change as a person, my way of thinking is changing and I can now better see my flaws. Lol that’s all I have achieved so far and that too in a very immature way. So today me and my papa was watching news and one news particularly caught my papa’s attention, it was about some fake Peer (spiritual guide). My papa is not into sufism and he thinks that Allah, His Prophet SAW and Quran is all that we need for guidance. I agree with him but I also believe in finding a friend that holds the key for my lock, as Rumi says. To teach me about Allah is not primarily the purpose of that friend, but to connect me with Allah could be. Someone who should help me in finding my real self and Allah. Someone who can help me feel His presence when I am praying and when I am not. That is what that friend is here for. I feel so relieved lol yes relieved, to know that I am lacking love in my life (Btw I am not seeking any love relationship lol, not atleast in near future). I got to know that this feeling no more exists in my life and there are moments like these when Rumi comes like the fragnance of a rose. This time He said;

I did not come to teach you.
I came to love you.
Love will teach you.

Because when there is Rumi, there is Shams lol excuse my not so good sense of humor, just wanted to quote a saying of Shams Tabrizi here;

Solitude is better for us, as it means being alone without feeling lonely. But eventually it is best to find a person, the person who will be your mirror. Remember, only in another person’s heart can you truly see yourself and the presence of God within you.

But yes to keep that incident in mind, I also want you to remind what Shams Tabrizi says about that;

“There are more fake gurus and false teachers in this world than the number of stars in the visible universe. Don’t confuse power-driven, self- centered people with true mentors. A genuine spiritual master will not direct your attention to himself or herself and will not expect absolute obedience or utter admiration from you, but instead will help you to appreciate and admire your inner self. True mentors are as transparent as glass. They let the light of God pass through them.”

I read somewhere that Allah created us from His Noor (light). I believe the purpose of this life is to restore that relation with Allah. I think before sending us to this world, He erased all those memories that we have with Him. And now it is our purpose to bring back all those memories (Khuwaja Shams-uddin-Azeemi said something like that if I am not mistaking). The difference is that we have been given so many distractions here which makes this task even more difficult. So in short this life is all about;

From Allah, WITH ALLAH, to Allah”

This is how I think. I might be wrong or I might be wrong for someone and not for myself or vice versa. I also believe in improvement.

©2017 Parus

2 thoughts on “What is the Purpose of Life?

  1. I believe the purpose of life is to just be born, after that life is completed. Your born then you die. We all accomplish the meaning of life as soon as we’re born. Depending what you decide to do with this life creates your purpose. That’s what I believe, there really is no purpose but to just live.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

