Me and Rumi #3 (and Ibrahim)


screenshot_2016-11-05-00-40-52-1.png

This post is in response to Come back.

Me:

I heard it before that He was closer to me, closer than my jugular vein.

But up until this point in my life, I never really understood what that meant.

Hey dervish, hey madman, hey cleric, come back, come tell me more.

Come back.

Rumi:

That which is most real is nearer than your jugular vein.

You’ve shot the arrow of thought far afield.

Despite all your bows and arrows,

the target is near, but you have shot too far.

The farther one shoots,

the farther one is from the treasure.

The philosopher just about killed himself with thinking-

let him run on vain,

for he has turned his back to the treasure.

Let him run on: the more he runs, the farther he goes

away from the object of his heart’s desire.

That Divine Being said, “…those who have striven in Us.”  [Surah Al-Hajj 22;78, Surah Al-Ma’idah 5;35]

not, “…those who have striven away from Us,” O restless one.

Translations by Kabir and Camille Helminski

2 thoughts on “Me and Rumi #3 (and Ibrahim)

  1. This is pristine beyond measure. I mean, this was exactly what i was yearning for and you’ve given it to me. I cannot thank you enough. Words fail me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am very happy to hear that Ibrahim 🙂 And this is it with Rumi. He finds me when I need him the most and that is the reason I started this series. Remember what Shams says? What we want, also wants us ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

